Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

Divider

Review: Moon Chosen by P.C. Cast

December 23, 2016 Diversity 0, Reviews 3

Review: Moon Chosen by P.C. CastMoon Chosen by P.C. Cast
Series: Tales of a New World #1
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on October 18, 2016
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, YA, YA Fantasy
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover
Source: finished copy from the publisher
Goodreads
zero-stars
Chosen to embrace her true identity. Chosen to follow her destiny. Chosen to change her world.

Mari is an Earth Walker, heir to the unique healing powers of her Clan, but she has been forced to turn from her duties, until she is chosen by a special animal ally, altering her destiny forever. When a deadly attack tears her world apart, Mari reveals the strength of her powers and the forbidden secret of her dual nature as she embarks on a mission to save herself and her people. It is not until Nik, the son of the leader from a rival, dominating Tribe, strays across her path that Mari experiences something she has never felt before…

Now evil is coming, and with it, a force more terrible and destructive than the world has ever seen, leaving Mari to cast the shadows from the earth. By breaking Clan Law and forming an alliance with Nik, she must make herself ready. Ready to save her people. Ready to save herself and Nik. Ready to embrace her true destiny…and battle the forces that threaten to destroy them all.

Diversity: -5 – What the Fuck Is This?

Racial-Ethnic: -5 (this is some goddamn racist shit)
QUILTBAG: 0 (one blink-and-you’ll-miss-it gay character; there’s a lesbian couple, but one of them dies soon after being introduced)
Disability: 0 (one blind girl, heavily fetishized)
Intersectionality: 0

This is gonna be a long review and I’m not even covering everything I want to, so I’ve uploaded my notes on Google Drive for easy viewing. Just click the link! All quote citations and page numbers are in that document and based on the US hardcover edition.

Once upon a time, there was Revealing Eden by Victoria Hoyt, a novel that turned white people into the oppressed class and made the white main character donning blackface a narrative necessity. It was rightly called out for racism then and is still ridiculously racist now. If I weren’t already familiar with the Cast family’s brand of racism thanks to their House of Night series, I’d think Moon Chosen was written specifically to out-racist Revealing Eden and all the cultural appropriation and Magical Native American fuckery from the aforementioned series.  Between blackface and all the racial coding, Moon Chosen may actually be the most racist YA novel of all.

Read more »

Divider

Review: Dream Things True by Marie Marquardt

September 7, 2015 Diversity 2, Reviews 2 ★★

Review: Dream Things True by Marie MarquardtDream Things True by Marie Marquardt
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on September 1, 2015
Genres: YA, YA Contemporary
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: BEA 2015
Goodreads
two-stars
A modern-day Romeo and Juliet story in which a wealthy Southern boy falls in love with an undocumented Mexican girl and together they face perils in their hostile Georgia town.

Evan, a soccer star and the nephew of a conservative Southern Senator, has never wanted for much -- except a functional family. Alma has lived in Georgia since she was two-years-old, excels in school, and has a large, warm Mexican family. Never mind their differences, the two fall in love, and they fall hard. But when ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) begins raids on their town, Alma knows that she needs to tell Evan her secret. There's too much at stake. But how to tell her country-club boyfriend that she’s an undocumented immigrant? That her whole family and most of her friends live in the country without permission. What follows is a beautiful, nuanced, well-paced exploration of the complications of immigration, young love, defying one’s family, and facing a tangled bureaucracy that threatens to completely upend two young lives.

Diversity Rating: 2 – It’s a Start!

Racial-Ethnic: 5 (most of the cast is POC, being that Alma’s family is so large)
QUILTBAG: 0
Disability: 0
Intersectionality: 3 (Alma’s family is fairly poor and suffer from racial discrimination/racism)

A few years ago, I read this little book called Burning that I loved and hated in equal measure. The Romani girl Lala’s POV chapters touched me and got me to root for her; the white boy’s chapters were odious in their offensiveness and made me want to feed him through a wood chipper because he never grew to learn better. Dream Things True, what with its rich white boy and undocumented Mexican immigrant girl sharing the third-person narrative, is much the same way. Alma’s sections are lovely and shed a much-needed light on life as an undocumented immigrant in an era where Donald Trump’s racist, early-Hitler-esque rhetoric puts him at the top of the Republican polls. However, Evan’s hardly-questioned mounds of privilege really weigh down what could have been a great novel. Read more »

Divider

Review: About a Girl by Sarah McCarry

August 13, 2015 Diversity 4, Reviews 2 ★★★½

Review: About a Girl by Sarah McCarryAbout a Girl by Sarah McCarry
Series: Metamorphoses #3
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on July 14, 2014
Genres: Magical Realism, YA
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover
Source: finished copy from the publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Eighteen-year-old Tally is absolutely sure of everything: her genius, the love of her adoptive family, the loyalty of her best friend, Shane, and her future career as a Nobel prize-winning astronomer. There's no room in her tidy world for heartbreak or uncertainty—or the charismatic, troubled mother who abandoned her soon after she was born. But when a sudden discovery upends her fiercely ordered world, Tally sets out on an unexpected quest to seek out the reclusive musician who may hold the key to her past—and instead finds Maddy, an enigmatic and beautiful girl who will unlock the door to her future. The deeper she falls in love with Maddy, the more Tally begins to realize that the universe is bigger—and more complicated—than she ever imagined. Can Tally face the truth about her family—and find her way home in time to save herself from its consequences?

Diversity Rating: 4 – This Is Our World

Racial-Ethnic: 5 (Senegalese man, Navajo man, Tally and her mother are brown-skinned)
QUILTBAG: 5 (Tally’s BFF Shane is trans; Tally’s dads are gay and both her adoptive mom and bio mom are bi and so is she)Disability: 0
Intersectionality: 4 (look at all those identities up there)

So I didn’t care for McCarry’s debut novel All Our Pretty Songs and didn’t read her second book Dirty Wings, but thanks to the girls-kissing cover, I knew I needed to read About a Girl. It sounded like a fine novel on its own too, but the promise of girls kissing is the best because the G in QUILTBAG is the one that gets all the representation. McCarry finishes out her generation-spanning trilogy with a highly intelligent journey of self-discovery. Read more »

Divider

Review: Delicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn

July 2, 2015 Diversity 3, Reviews 2 ★★★½

Review: Delicate Monsters by Stephanie KuehnDelicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on June 9, 2015
Genres: YA, YA Contemporary, YA Thriller
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover
Source: eARC via NetGalley
three-half-stars
From the Morris-Award winning author of Charm & Strange, comes a twisted and haunting tale about three teens uncovering dark secrets and even darker truths about themselves.

When nearly killing a classmate gets seventeen-year-old Sadie Su kicked out of her third boarding school in four years, she returns to her family’s California vineyard estate. Here, she’s meant to stay out of trouble. Here, she’s meant to do a lot of things. But it’s hard. She’s bored. And when Sadie’s bored, the only thing she likes is trouble.

Emerson Tate’s a poor boy living in a rich town, with his widowed mother and strange, haunted little brother. All he wants his senior year is to play basketball and make something happen with the girl of his dreams. That’s why Emerson’s not happy Sadie’s back. An old childhood friend, she knows his worst secrets. The things he longs to forget. The things she won’t ever let him.

Haunted is a good word for fifteen-year-old Miles Tate. Miles can see the future, after all. And he knows his vision of tragic violence at his school will come true, because his visions always do. That’s what he tells the new girl in town. The one who listens to him. The one who recognizes the darkness in his past.

But can Miles stop the violence? Or has the future already been written? Maybe tragedy is his destiny. Maybe it’s all of theirs.

Diversity Rating: 3 – Closer to Reality

Racial-Ethnic: 4 (Sadie is half-Chinese, Emerson’s crush May is unspecified POC)
QUILTBAG: 0 (may be someone, but not a main character; my memory is fuzzy)
Disability: 1 (off-screen character has Tourette’s, two characters are sociopaths)
Intersectionality: 3 (Emerson and Miles’s family is not too well off)

MAJOR WARNING for anyone triggered by cat death/animal death: you’re not going to like this novel because there are a LOT of dead animals. Also sexual abuse.

Stephanie Kuehn’s novels are so smart they might make even the most intelligent men and women of the world feel a little dumb. I have faith in my own intellect and still questioned if I really got this novel. That happened some with her sophomore novel Complicit too and also in her debut Charm & Strange in spades, so I knew what I was in for. Still, wow. Delicate Monsters is a novel both unlike Kuehn’s previous work and unlike any other YA novel out there right now as we dive into the heads of two sociopaths and a sickly young boy who has suffered from torment by both of them. Read more »

Divider

Review: All the Rage by Courtney Summers

March 2, 2015 Reviews 3 ★★★★★

Review: All the Rage by Courtney SummersAll the Rage by Courtney Summers
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on April 14, 2015
Genres: YA, YA Contemporary
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: print ARC from Amazon Vine
five-stars
The sheriff’s son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, the truth about him has cost her everything—friends, family, and her community. Branded a liar and bullied relentlessly by a group of kids she used to hang out with, Romy’s only refuge is the diner where she works outside of town. No one knows her name or her past there; she can finally be anonymous. But when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing after a party, and news of him assaulting another girl in a town close by gets out, Romy must decide whether she wants to fight or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t speak up. Nobody believed her the first time—and they certainly won’t now — but the cost of her silence might be more than she can bear.

With a shocking conclusion and writing that will absolutely knock you out, All the Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women after an act of sexual violence, forcing us to ask ourselves: In a culture that refuses to protect its young girls, how can they survive?

So, um. I’m a Courtney Summers fangirl. If there’s one author who should really be terrified to meet me, it’s probably her because I won’t want to let her leave ever. We’ve all got a little Annie Wilkes in us, right?

Er, maybe it’s just me. I’ve heard I scare authors and I know I’m one heck of a creep when I want to be. I’ve read all her books and shouldn’t be allowed near her at any bookish event I might meet her at, but that’s more because she’s so good at writing girls with complex personalities, tough stuff, and emotional pain and I’d embarrass myself in her presence. Readers have spent years waiting for All the Rage and the wait is 100% worth it. This novel is Courtney Summers looking patriarchy/rape culture dead in the eyes and destroying their nuts with baseball bats. Read more »

Divider

Review: This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

July 7, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Review: This Is Not a Test by Courtney SummersThis Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Series: This Is Not a Test #1
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on June 19, 2012
Genres: YA, YA Horror
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: print ARC from Amazon Vine
five-stars
It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside. When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?

“Maybe the only way our story can end is varying degrees of sad. And that I miss her, and that I need her, and this kind of missing, this kind of need, the kind of emptiness it leaves behind is worse than waking up one day finding the whole world has collapsed in on itself, that I was over long before it was.” (ARC p. 226)

Zombies? Usually, I’m not interested. The zombie fanatic of the family is my brother, who has infected everyone else in our immediate family with his fascination. Still, something about This Is Not a Test intrigued me. The good word friends put behind this author and this book in particular? The way I swear I saw someone describe it as a more depressing The Breakfast Club in the middle of a zombie apocalypse? Whatever it was, I snatched it up and started the novel with a sense of caution. Read more »

Divider

Review: Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

June 20, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Review: Complicit by Stephanie KuehnComplicit by Stephanie Kuehn
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on June 24, 2014
Genres: YA, YA Contemporary
Pages: 256
Format: eARC
Source: eARC via NetGalley
four-stars
Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile detention for burning down their neighbor’s fancy horse barn. The whole town did. Because Crazy Cate Henry used to be a nice girl. Until she did a lot of bad things. Like drinking. And stealing. And lying. Like playing weird mind games in the woods with other children. Like making sure she always got her way. Or else.

But today Cate got out. And now she’s coming back for Jamie.

Because more than anything, Cate Henry needs her little brother to know the truth about their past. A truth she’s kept hidden for years. A truth she’s not supposed to tell.

Trust nothing and no one as you race toward the explosive conclusion of this gripping psychological thriller from the William C. Morris Award-winning author of Charm & Strange.

Charm and Strange failed to charm me when I gave it a shot last year, but Complicit‘s promise of an unreliable narrator and his toxic yet brilliantly bright elder sister called my name. If you know me, you I know I like my tales of dysfuctional siblings wherein one of them is our unreliable narrator (see: Imaginary Girls). Cate and Jamie are one heck of a sibling duo that make for the central focus of one heck of a novel. Thank goodness I didn’t give up on Kuehn after Charm and Strange or I would have missed this masterpiece! Read more »

Divider