Publisher: Tor Teen

Divider

Double Review: When Dimple Met Vassa in the Night

August 24, 2017 Diversity 1, Diversity 4, Reviews 0

by Sandhya Menon, Sarah Porter
Published by Simon Pulse, Tor Teen Genres: Magical Realism, YA, YA Contemporary
Source: ALA Annual 2016, Bought, eARC via Edelweiss

 

 

When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
Simon Pulse (May 30, 2017)
384 pages
Source: eARC via Edelweiss, later bought hardcover (which is what I read)
Rating: 3.5 stars

Diversity: 4 (Dimple and Rishi and their families are Indian, Dimple’s roommate Celia is bi and Latina, basically the entire cast is POC save the antagonistic Aberzombie kids)

Good God, everyone was right, this book is so cuuuuuuuuuute. Though I’ll outright admit When Dimple Met Rishi wasn’t to my taste, that doesn’t matter one little bit. What’s important is that Indian kids now have a hate-to-love YA book starring teens who look like them and come from their experience. An Indian teen’s opinion on this book matters much more than mine. Read more »

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday (19)

March 11, 2015 Waiting on Wednesday 1

Waiting on Wednesday (19)A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin
Published by Tor Teen on May 19, 2015
Genres: YA, YA Historical
Pages: 352
The launch of a captivating new YA series set in Regency England that #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot calls “completely original and totally engrossing.”

It’s 1814. Napoleon is exiled on Elba. Europe is in shambles. Britain is at war on four fronts. And Stranje House, a School for Unusual Girls, has become one of Regency England’s dark little secrets. The daughters of the beau monde who don't fit high society’s constrictive mold are banished to Stranje House to be reformed into marriageable young ladies. Or so their parents think. In truth, Headmistress Emma Stranje, the original unusual girl, has plans for the young ladies—plans that entangle the girls in the dangerous world of spies, diplomacy, and war.

After accidentally setting her father’s stables on fire while performing a scientific experiment, Miss Georgiana Fitzwilliam is sent to Stranje House. But Georgie has no intention of being turned into a simpering, pudding-headed, marriageable miss. She plans to escape as soon as possible—until she meets Lord Sebastian Wyatt. Thrust together in a desperate mission to invent a new invisible ink for the English war effort, Georgie and Sebastian must find a way to work together without losing their heads—or their hearts...

I read an excerpt of this in the Buzz Books YA sampler that went up on NetGalley and fell in love. The premise? Good enough as it is. The actual first chapter of the book, in which the beleaguered heroine trying to explain that she set things on fire FOR SCIENCE but getting sentenced to boarding school anyway? I LIKE IT. Sure, I don’t like science, but all hail the women of the world who can actually science. That stuff is hard.

May 19th can’t get here soon enough–and not just because it means I’m less than a week away from going to New York City for BEA at that point!

Divider

Review: The Nightmare Dilemma by Mindee Arnett

June 16, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★½

Review: The Nightmare Dilemma by Mindee ArnettThe Nightmare Dilemma by Mindee Arnett
Series: Arkwell Academy #2
Published by Tor Teen on March 4, 2014
Genres: Mystery, YA Paranormal
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
three-half-stars
The second in a thrilling new fantastical mystery series

Dusty Everhart might be able to predict the future through the dreams of her crush, Eli Booker, but that doesn’t make her life even remotely easy. When one of her mermaid friends is viciously assaulted and left for dead, and the school’s jokester, Lance Rathbone, is accused of the crime, Dusty’s as shocked as everybody else. Lance needs Dusty to prove his innocence by finding the real attacker, but that’s easier asked than done. Eli’s dreams are no help, more nightmares than prophecies.

To make matters worse, Dusty’s ex-boyfriend has just been acquitted of conspiracy and is now back at school, reminding Dusty of why she fell for him in the first place. The Magi Senate needs Dusty to get close to him, to discover his real motives. But this order infuriates Eli, who has started his own campaign for Dusty’s heart.

As Dusty takes on both cases, she begins to suspect they’re connected to something bigger. And there’s something very wrong with Eli’s dreams, signs that point to a darker plot than they could have ever imagined.

After enjoying The Nightmare Affair thoroughly, it took me a surprisingly long time to get to its sequel The Nightmare Dilemma thanks to my moods not being in favor of it and a lot of review copies getting in the way. When I got the time for a free read and I finally felt like I was in the mood for Dusty’s shenanigans with her friends at a secret school for supernatural creatures, I finally got to it and found myself satisfied. It’s not as good as The Nightmare Affair and doesn’t develop its story all the way through like I wish it would, but it’s still a very entertaining novel worth reading if you liked the first book in the series. Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour Stop + Giveaway: The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett

February 23, 2013 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Blog Tour Stop + Giveaway: The Nightmare Affair by Mindee ArnettThe Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett Published by Tor Teen on March 5, 2013
Genres: Mystery, YA Paranormal
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: eARC via NetGalley
four-stars
Sixteen-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare.

Literally.

Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy, is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing. But it does. Eli is dreaming of a murder.

Then Eli’s dream comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues—both within Eli’s dreams and out of them—to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.

This got pitched as Harry Potter meets Veronica Mars and though I don’t know about how it compares to the latter, it reminds me in the former in a lot of small, sweet ways. The Latin spells, the main character made infamous for something she can’t control, the bully wizard who reminds me a lot of Draco Malfoy,… There are still plenty of differences between the two, but that flavoring spiced up a book that’s good enough on its own.

The characters make the book with their humor and fire, and Dusty never makes you wish you could get out of her head. There are a few who deserve a little more dimension, like the insecure mean girl siren Katarina, but there aren’t any characters who are the bad kind of noteworthy because they’re offensive. Lance is a character I’d like to see more of purely for crackshipping purposes (he and Dusty reminds me of Dramione in way too many Harry Potter fics SHUT UP SHUT UP). Still, my favorite character has got to be Moira. It was difficult to figure out if she was the Big Bad, a Professor Snape character, or just a really bad mom.

I may have been having too much fun to pay attention to the mystery because for the most part, its resolution caught me by surprise. Suspicions about one character loomed because… Well, explaining why gives it away, so I’ll have to be quiet there. The most I can say is that YA trends taught me better. Why did he have to go evil? He’s so sweet! Not that he doesn’t have a good reason for it. The antagonists actually make a great point about how the current system treats one group of magickind, but like all villains, they’re mostly in the wrong and are going about it the wrong way

Some of its internal logic is a little lacking, though. Moira makes a good point when she asks Dusty what the governing body of their society is doing to protect her. Dusty’s a valuable dream-seer whose kind is rarely found, after all! People fear her and the killer might want her dead to keep her from dream-seeing his identity, but little to nothing is done to keep her safe. Then again, no one tries to attack her seriously. The villain probably didn’t read the Evil Overlord List.

Admittedly, I was only mildly interested in reading The Nightmare Affair when I first got it, and I see more disappoints from the books I barely want to read than books I really want to read. This is one of the rare books that bucks that trend to become a pleasant surprise and give me hope my book senses aren’t going bad after all. It’s going to be a long wait for the next two books in the series! Maybe there will be a little redemption for the character I like? *wink wink*

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Mindee Arnett lives on a horse farm in Ohio with her husband, two kids, a couple of dogs, and an inappropriate number of cats. She’s addicted to jumping horses and telling tales of magic, the macabre, and outer space. She has far more dreams than nightmares.

www.mindeearnett.com
twitter.com/mindeearnett

GIVEAWAY TIME!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider